Author Topic: Confused about timeline with Richard and Locke  (Read 9325 times)

Offline TheBrightandTheDark

• Dharma VIP
    • View Profile
Re: Confused about timeline with Richard and Locke
« Reply #15 on: May 07, 2009, 02:50:30 AM »
LostGirlDeb: I have taken myself out of all paradox discussion, lol. I understand what you're saying, it does seem like a loop. Just as people said above, I think, that Richard only goes to see Locke in 1956 because Locke tells him in 1954 to do so. Richard is being manipulated by Locke.

I've been so confused by these time-travel things I've just shut my mind to it. Just... letting the writers take me wherever they want. I'm not a scientist (well, except in the DI  :D), so I'm not sure I could wrap my mind around things to begin with. Plus, it's time travel. If anybody says they're an "expert" in time travel, unless they're a Daniel-Faraday-caliber physicist, I just have to laugh.

So... I do understand what you're saying, and I feel just as frustrated. Sorry I can't help, though, but this useless path is the one I'm taking and you're welcome to join me.  ;D

Offline norville

• Red Shirt
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: May 07, 2009, 02:51:34 AM »
Ben asked Locke about his impeccable timing, didn't he?  And Locke's response was, "The Island told me."  The causation for this scene is as follows: The Island tells (present) Locke to take Richard to the beechcraft at time X. Locke takes him, and sends him on the errand. Richard helps (past) Locke, as instructed. Past Locke continues on his path.