Author Topic: Ben Reading  (Read 3001 times)

Offline Maxor127

• In the Loop
    • View Profile
Re: Ben Reading
« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2009, 11:37:56 PM »
I think we're meant to look at Ulysses by James Joyce for connections but I'm too lazy to look it up.  I think I read portions of it in college but I don't remember much from it.

Offline TheBrightandTheDark

• Dharma VIP
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2009, 02:34:14 AM »
Like Locke is the Christ figure, Desmond is the Odysseus figure...I mean, seriously. His wife's name is Penelope, and he travels around the world to get back to her.

I'm no expert on Joyce's Ulysses, you can definitely find info online. All I know is that the Ulysses reader that I got is the same size as the actual book of Ulysses, so...it's taking a while to read and understand.  :)

Offline Ladybug

• Dharma VIP
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2009, 11:16:22 AM »
i rolled laughing at the comment about his mom teaching him to read.  definintely the best line of the night.

Offline MachThree

• Survivor
    • View Profile
« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2009, 12:36:49 PM »
I think Ulysses by James Joyce is not directly related to Homer's Oddyssey, though its name is obviously a reference to Homer's work...

Some interesting tidbits about the Odyssey...

Desmond (er, Odysseus/Ulysses) has to return back to his love across the sea... her name is Penny (er, uh, Penelope) and as she waits for his return, she is being courted by 108 suitors who want her to give up on Odysseus's return and marry one of them....

Offline surfmadpig

• Red Shirt
    • View Profile
« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2009, 01:31:49 PM »
Doc Jensen's new article on ew.com has quite a lot to say about Ulysees and its connection to Lost:

http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,1550612_20245769_20259937,00.html

Offline opgelost

• In the Loop
    • View Profile
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2009, 02:52:31 PM »