Author Topic: Juliet's Mark  (Read 13725 times)

Offline msdoran

• Red Shirt
    • View Profile
Re: Juliet's Mark
« Reply #30 on: February 22, 2007, 01:58:39 AM »
From Lostpedia:

Juliet's Mark could be a reference to the Mark of Cain, from the story of Cain and Abel. Genesis 4:15 - "And the LORD set a mark upon Cain, lest any finding him should kill him."

This is actually exactly what I was going to say. I studied Theology pretty extensively and that is the reason why traditionally christians never got tattoo's, and why during the early 20th century bikers were so feared. To mark your body was a grievous sin.

This has to be partly the reason why she was marked, and in my opinion the mark she received was definitely a brand, and that had to hurt! ouch!

mindsparkle

« Reply #31 on: February 22, 2007, 03:36:31 AM »
I know I did, it's as if with the mark you will suffer the consequences of your act for the rest of your life... death may have been merciful depending on how she will be treated... maybe they will throw her to the smoke monster as a sacrificial offering... who knows...

Offline iban

• Onlooker
    • View Profile
« Reply #32 on: February 22, 2007, 03:44:22 AM »
In the Bible (Genesis 4), Cain kills Abel (Juliet killed Dani) and God marked Cain so nobody would take vengeance on him and kill him.

mindsparkle

« Reply #33 on: February 22, 2007, 03:48:39 AM »
hmmm, maybe the mark is a mark of protection... interesting

Offline Maxor127

• In the Loop
    • View Profile
« Reply #34 on: February 22, 2007, 08:09:58 AM »
The thing I noticed was how crappy Juliet looked while giving Jack his sandwich.  Looked like she was sick or something, or maybe it was just from the pain of getting marked or the stress of the situation.

Offline sjforcum

• Onlooker
    • View Profile
« Reply #35 on: February 22, 2007, 08:52:24 AM »
It means "the Artist formerly known as an other"...

Offline LostGirlDeb

• Dharma VIP
  • Live Together Die Alone
    • View Profile